The Montefiore Fountain (Image: www.funbarbados.com)????
One of Bridgetown’s most prominent public monuments will soon be restored to its former glory.
The National Art Galley Committee (NAGC) of the Ministry of Community Development and Culture is working in collaboration with Puerto Rican objects conservator, Angel Santiago-Torres to restore the Montefiore Fountain, which is located opposite the Coleridge Street Library.
The restoration project is part of the NAGC’s Conservation and Education Programme.
The Montefiore Fountain, a public monument dating back to 1864, was previously located at Beckwith Place and moved to its present location in 1940.
It was given to the city by John Montefiore as a memorial to his father, John Castello Montefiore, who died from cholera in 1854.
This monument is one of many examples of unique Barbadian-built heritage which prompted Government to seek the nomination of Bridgetown and its historic Garrison as a World Heritage Site.
The Ministry of Transport and Works and the National Conservation Commission are assisting with the restoration project.
For further information on the National Art Gallery Committee’s Art Conservation Programme, interested persons can send queries to e-mail address email@example.com, call 310-2700 or visit the website www.nagc.bb.