Broken Trident In St. James This Month

admin Top Stories

Following its official handover on Sunday, May 1, the commemorative Broken Trident will continue its journey across St. James this month, with stops at several hotels, schools, churches and places of business.

On Friday, May 6, the symbolic Broken Trident will be hosted by Frederick Smith Secondary School, from 8:00 a.m. to noon, and on Saturday, May 7, by the staff of Jordan???s Supermarket, Fitts Village, from 8:00 to 10:00 a.m.

Several hotels will also receive the Broken Trident, including Club Barbados Resort and Spa, Holetown, on Monday, May 9, from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.; Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel on Wednesday, May 18, from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.; and Sandy Lane Hotel on Thursday, May 19, from 11:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

On Tuesday, May 10, the symbolic Broken Trident will be received by St. Albans Primary School, at 8:00 a.m., while on Friday, May 13, it will be at West Terrace Primary from 8:30 to noon.

The following week, on Wednesday, May 18, it will be on display at St. Boniface Nursery School from 8:30 a.m., and at Good Shepherd Primary on Friday, May 20, also from 8:30 to noon.

Queen???s College will play host to the Broken Trident on Monday, May 23, from 8:00; St. James Primary on Friday, May 27, from 8:30 a.m.; and St. Silas Primary on Monday, May 30, also from 8:30 a.m.

Churches in St. James will also play host to the commemorative Broken Trident. It will be on display at the Orange Hill Church of God on Sunday, May 8, from 8:30 a.m., and at the Blessed Hope Seventh-Day Adventist Church on Saturday, May 14, between 9:00 a.m. and noon.

St. Francis of Assisi Roman Catholic Church and St. James Parish Church will receive the Trident on Sunday, May 15, at 7:30 a.m. and 8:30 a.m. respectively, while the Holders Hill Seventh-Day Adventist Church will have its turn on Saturday, May 21, from 9:00 a.m.

On Sunday, May 22, it will be on display at the Western Light Nazarene Church from 7:30 a.m., and at Holetown Methodist Church on Sunday, May 29, from 9:00 a.m.

Morning shoppers patronising Sunset Crest Mall on Saturday, May 14, and Limegrove Lifestyle Centre on Saturday, May 21, will also have an opportunity to view the symbolic Broken Trident.

In the coming months, the commemorative Broken Trident will traverse all 11 parishes before it is permanently housed in a monument to be erected at the Garrison Savannah.

The full schedule for the movement of the commemorative Broken Trident for May 2016 may be downloaded here.

kathyann.husbands@barbados.gov.bb

Share this post with a friend...Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn