MAJOR CHANGES COMING TO NEW SCHOOL YEAR

admin Uncategorized 0 Comments

The Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development has announced major changes to the 2008-2009 school year.

While the duration of the upcoming school year will still have 38 weeks, the Ministry has affected the following changes:

Term 1 will consist of 15 weeks, to be broken into a first half of 7 weeks and a second half of 8 weeks. The first term will commence on Monday, September 1 for only teachers and is designated as a Planning Day. Students will start school the following day, Tuesday, September 2.

Meanwhile, Teachers’ Professional Day is slated for October 17. All students are expected to remain at home on that day, but teachers are expected to attend seminars, workshops or sessions related to their profession.

There will be a mid term break from October 20 to 24, with the second half of the term slated to recommence on Monday, October 27. The term will end on Wednesday, December 17, for students and on Thursday, December 18, for teachers. A two week vacation break will follow.

Term 2 will consist of 12 weeks and is scheduled to commence for teachers on Monday, January 5, 2009 with a designated Planning Day. Students will return to school on Tuesday, January 6. The term will end on Thursday, March 26, for students and Friday, March 27, for teachers.

The final term, Term 3, will be of 11 weeks duration, and will commence on Tuesday, April 14 for teachers with a scheduled Planning Day. Students will return to school on Wednesday, April 15.

The term will end on Thursday, June 25, for students and on Friday, June 26, for teachers.

Share this post with a friend...Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *