National Senior Games Next Month

admin Ministry News

Barbadians can look forward to much more than track and field when local athletes gather next month for the National Senior Games.

The National Senior Games 5K Road Race, for runners, walkers and wheelchair competitors, will take place on Sunday, April 13, at 6:00 a.m. Registration for the race, which will begin and end on Stadium Road, St. Michael, is Monday, April 7.

Registration forms are available from the National Sports Council, Blenheim, My Lord???s Hill, St. Michael; The National Assistance Board, Country Road, St. Michael; Sports and Games Ltd., James Street, Bridgetown; and the Ministry of Social Care, Warrens Office Complex, Warrens, St. Michael.

Table tennis fans can head to the Table Tennis Centre, John Beckles Drive, Cosntitution Road, St. Michael, over three Wednesdays – April 16, 23 and 30 – at 7:00 p.m., to take in the competition. Persons interested in competing have until Friday, May 9, to register.

Archers are encouraged to register by the Wednesday, April 9 deadline for their competition, which will be held at the Archery Association Range, Belleview Gap, Waterford, St. Michael. It takes place over four days, Saturday, April 12, at 2:00 p.m.; Sunday, April 13, at 9:00 a.m.; Saturday, May 3, at 2:00 p.m. and Sunday, May 4, at 9:00 a.m.

The tennis competition will be hosted at the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex, Wildey, St. Michael, from Friday, April 25 to Friday May 9. On weekdays, the event will begin at 6:00 p.m., while on weekends it will be held from 8:00 to 10:00 a.m. and 3:00 to 7:00 p.m. The deadline for registration is Wednesday, April 16.

Those who wish to participate in the cycling road race have until Tuesday, April 22, to register. The competition will be held on Sunday, April 27, at 6:00 a.m. and will begin opposite Weiser???s on the Bay, on Spring Garden Highway.

For the netball competition, which will be held Thursday, May 8, at 6:00 p.m. at the Netball Stadium, Waterford, St. Michael, persons have until Tuesday, April 29, to register.

Registration forms for events are available from the respective associations and from the National Sports Council, which may be contacted at 430-7700. For additional information on this year???s National Senior Games, open to persons ages 40 and over,??contact the Ministry of Social Care at 310-1610 or 310-1600.

nekaelia.hutchinson@barbados.gov.bb

Share this post with a friend...Email this to someoneShare on FacebookShare on Google+Tweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedIn