Not Easy Choosing Scholarship Winners

Julie Carrington Ministry News

Minister of Education, Ronald Jones (centre), chatting with the scholars during a recent presentation ceremony in the Ministry of Education’s Main Conference Room. (B.Hinds/BGIS)

Although the process to select National Development Scholarship winners is not a “walk in the park”, Deputy Chief Education Officer, Joy Adamson, said she is proud to see recipients at the end of the process.

Mrs. Adamson made this observation recently while addressing the National Development and Commonwealth Scholarships presentation ceremony in the Ministry of Education’s Main Conference Room.

The Deputy Chief Education Officer, who was also the chairman of the selection committee for the awarding of both scholarships, pointed out that her team was charged with “a very difficult task”.

“First, selecting the areas [of need] that had been submitted from all across Barbados both in the public and private sector, then shortlisting the persons for the interviews.  We came up then with six persons for the National Development Scholarship and we made recommendations for the Commonwealth Scholarship,” she explained.

Mrs. Adamson encouraged the students to be ambassadors for Barbados, not only in their academic work, but in their conduct and deportment.

This year’s National Development Scholarship winners are: Dawne-Marie Armstrong, Matthew Banfield, Peter Bernstein, Natalya Brathwaite, Hallan Connell and Rosanna Lewis. The lone Commonwealth Scholarship awardee is Cherisse Francis.

Share this post with a friend...Email this to someone
Share on Facebook
Share on Google+
Tweet about this on Twitter
Share on LinkedIn