SJPI Turns 50 This Month; Year-Long Celebrations

Melissa Rollock Ministry News

(Stock Image)

The Samuel Jackman Prescod Institute of Technology (SJPI) will celebrate 50 years of education and training with year-long activities.

The Institute, which marks the milestone this month under the theme SJPI 50: Celebrating Our Past, Inspiring Our Future, will launch its anniversary festivities with a church service on Wednesday, January 16, beginning at 9:30 a.m. in its auditorium at Wildey, St. Michael.

On Tuesday, January 29, there will be an unveiling of SJPI’s signage and mural, in addition to the burying of a time capsule on the campus.  The celebrations continue on Friday, February 1, with the opening of a year-long historic exhibition, which will be followed by an African Awareness Day and Exhibition on Friday, February 22.

There will be a naming ceremony for SJPI’s Divisional Blocks and Wellness Centre on Tuesday, March 5, and the institute will take part in the Adopt-A-Kilometre Community Highway Programme on Tuesday, March 12, where businesses and institutions beautify and maintain the landscape along various sections of the ABC Highway.

From April 14 to 20, management, staff and students will host a Trade Show at the Institute. This will be followed by a Staff/Family Fun Day and Picnic on Wednesday, May 1. There will be an Evening of Nostalgia on Friday, June 7, and a Motorcade and Community Outreach on Saturday, July 13.

The celebrations in August comprise a staff lime on Wednesday, August 14, and a Student Council 5K Run and Walk on Sunday, August 25.  In September, there will be a wreath-laying ceremony at the tomb of National Hero, His Excellency Samuel Jackman Prescod on Wednesday, September 25, followed by the 15th Annual Samuel Jackman Prescod Memorial Lecture on Thursday, September 26.

The Institute will host an Art Exhibition on Monday, October 7, and a gospel concert – the date will be announced later.  The November activities will include a Health Fair/Open Day on Friday, November 1; SJPI’s graduation ceremony on Saturday, November 9; and a Fashion Week starting on Saturday, November 30.

The 50th anniversary celebrations will conclude on Saturday, December 14, with a Gala Awards.

melissa.rollock@barbados.gov.bb

Share this post with a friend...Email this to someone
email
Share on Facebook
Facebook
Share on Google+
Google+
Tweet about this on Twitter
Twitter
Share on LinkedIn
Linkedin