His Excellency the Governor-General, Sir Elliott Fitzroy Belgrave, G.C.M.G., K.A., has consented to the announcement of National Honours on the occasion of the Forty-seventh Anniversary of the Independence of Barbados.

The Barbados National Honours and Decorations system was instituted by Letters Patent dated July 25, 1980.

The Letters Patent provide inter alia for the establishment of the Order of Barbados in which there are four (4) classes of awards:

a) Knight or Dame of St. Andrew
b) Companion of Honour of Barbados
c) The Crown of Merit in two grades ??? the Gold and Silver
d) The Barbados Service Award in two grades ??? the Star and Medal

The Barbados Star of Gallantry, the Barbados Bravery Medal and the Services Medal of Honour were also instituted by Letters Patent dated July 25, 1980.

Over the years, awards have been made to persons in various fields of endeavour. This year, the public and private sectors are represented in the areas of business, education, public service, medicine, entertainment, culture, community service and sports.

The full list and information may be viewed by clicking here.

View the most recent Travel Protocols by

Pin It on Pinterest