Governor General Dame Sandra Mason. (FP)

Her Excellency Dame Sandra Prunella Mason, Dame Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Dame of St. Andrew, Queen’s Counsel, Governor-General of Barbados, has consented to the announcement of National Honours on the occasion of the Fifty-second Anniversary of Independence of Barbados. 

The Barbados National Honours and Decorations system was instituted by Letters Patent dated July 25, 1980. 

The Letters Patent provide, inter alia, for the establishment of the Order of Barbados in which there are four (4) classes of awards:

(a)       Knight or Dame of St. Andrew;

(b)       Companion of Honour of Barbados;

(c)        The Crown of Merit in two grades – Gold and Silver; and

(d)       The Barbados Service Award in two grades – The Star and Medal.

The Barbados Star of Gallantry, the Barbados Bravery Medal and the ServiceMedal of Honour were also instituted by Letters Patent dated July 25, 1980.

Over the years, awards have been made to persons in various fields of endeavour.  This year the public and private sectors are represented in the areas of business and entrepreneurship, publishing, public service, sports, medicine, education, the Trade Union Movement, entertainment, culture, humanitarian and philanthropic efforts, and community service.

Please click here to download the Awards of National Honours for Independence Day 2018.

View the most recent Travel Protocols by

COVID-19 Info

Click Here

COVID-19 Protocols

Click Here

Pin It on Pinterest