Government House. (FP)

Her Excellency Dame Sandra Prunella Mason, Dame Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Dame of St. Andrew, Queen’s Counsel, Governor-General of Barbados, has consented to the announcement of National Honours on the occasion of the Fifty-third Anniversary of Independence of Barbados.

The Order of the Freedom of Barbados National Honour was constituted by the Order of Freedom of Barbados Act dated August 15, 2019.

The Order of the Freedom of Barbados Act provides for the establishment of the Order of the Freedom of Barbados.  It may be conferred upon any Barbadian citizen who has distinguished himself by extraordinary service to Barbados, the Caribbean Diaspora or to humanity at large.  

A person upon whom the Order has been conferred shall be referred to as the “The Most Honourable”, and may use the post nominal “FB” after the surname.

The Barbados National Honours and Decorations system was instituted by Letters Patent dated July 25, 1980.

The Letters Patent provide, inter alia, for the establishment of the Order of Barbados in which there are four (4) classes of awards:

(a)     Knight or Dame of St. Andrew;
(b)     Companion of Honour of Barbados;
(c)      The Crown of Merit in two grades – Gold and Silver; and
(d)     The Barbados Service Award in two grades – The Star and Medal.

The Barbados Star of Gallantry, the Barbados Bravery Medal and the Service Medal of Honour were also instituted by Letters Patent dated
July 25, 1980.

Over the years, awards have been made to persons in various fields of endeavour.  This year the public and private sectors are represented in the areas of business and entrepreneurship, public service, sports, education, the Trade Union Movement, entertainment, culture, humanitarian and philanthropic efforts, and community service.

To view the 2019 Independence Day Honours List, you may click here.

View the most recent Travel Protocols by

Pin It on Pinterest