(Stock Image)

(BGIS Graphic)

Twenty-seven students have been awarded nine Barbados scholarships and 18 exhibitions for 2016.

This disclosure came today from Minister of Education, Ronald Jones, during a press conference at his office at the Elsie Payne Complex, Constitution Road, St. Michael.

Harrison College took the lion’s share with seven scholarships and seven exhibitions; while Queen’s College received two scholarships and six exhibitions. The St. Michael School and the Barbados Community College each received two exhibitions, while the Christ Church Foundation School won one.

Mr. Jones announced that the scholars from Harrison College are: Ajani Alleyne; Kia Barrow; Sherice Campbell; Blair Carter; Jhane Craigwell; Bradley King and Joshua Worme; while those from Queen’s College are Caroline Haynes; and Shermona Rodney.

The seven exhibition winners from Harrison College are: Nikolai Burton; Jordan Forde; Danielle Grazette; Reggio Lorde; Jovan Medford; Deborah Rowe and Javed Spencer. Those from Queen’s College are: Eshe Blackett; Maia Drakes; Ashley Gibson; Kayla James; Anil Karnani; and Subhang Nanduri.

Aisha Trimmingham of the Christ Church Foundation School; Kianer Chewitt and Kali Grant of The St. Michael School; and Tracey Brathwaite and Danielle White of the Barbados Community College, also won exhibitions.

Mr. Jones said there was a possibility that a few more scholarship or exhibition winners could emerge after further scrutiny of the results or if students and schools asked for reviews, as allowed under CXC rules.

The Minister of Education explained that scholarship winners received all Grade Ones at the CAPE level, with an “A” profile, while those receiving exhibitions received the majority Grade Ones.


View the most recent Travel Protocols by

COVID-19 Info

Click Here

COVID-19 Protocols

Click Here

Pin It on Pinterest