BAJE to the World Season 2 Semi-finals has been split into two shows this year featuring two performances by each of the 12 acts.

Television Producer of the show, Teshia Hinds, explained that both shows will be broadcast on CBC TV 8.  The first was aired on Saturday, March 26, while the second will air on Saturday April 2 at 9:03 p.m.

She explained, “We wanted to showcase the amazing talent of our contestants this year and thought that one performance at this stage was not enough. So the contestants will perform two pieces each – one genre they selected via a blind draw and the other they selected on their own, for what we expect to be two very entertaining shows.”

Both shows will be repeated on CBC TV8 on Tuesday, March 29 and April 5, also at 9:03 p.m.

Dwayne Grazette, producer of the show noted, “The competition, which is an initiative of the Community Development Department in the Ministry of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment, is really starting to heat up even more now, as we get closer to the finals.

“The two shows will give our contestants the opportunity to display all the knowledge and performance techniques they have gained over the past few months of challenges and workshops.

“Fans can be sure that they will be bringing their A game as they try to secure one of the eight spots in the Finals and a chance to win $20 000 in cash and other prizes, as well as a chance to perform internationally with world-renowned Soca artistes Fay-Ann Lyons and Bunji Garlin.”

The 12 semi-finalists are Makeda Lowe, Daianna Price, Rebekah Carter, Dianne Jemmott, Peter Coxx, Ramone Badd, Shontae Alleyne-Clarke, Harmoni Haynes, Jalissa Edwards, Tarique O’neal-Griffith, Christina Dottin, and dance duo Damon Boucher & Asha Weekes.

As part of the mandate of the show to develop well-rounded artistes, all contestants in Baje to the World Season 2 have participated in a mentorship programme headed by Terencia Coward, which paired them with some of the island’s top songwriters, producers and other creatives including Nikita, Mahalia, Shari Pollard, Kevin Watson ‘Sluggy Dan’ and Edwin Yearwood.

They also attended professional entertainment workshops facilitated by Kirk Brown and Stephanie Chase, in conjunction with the National Transformation Initiative (NTI), facilitated under the guidance of Director, Dr. Allyson Leacock.

Ministry of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment

View the most recent Travel Protocols by

Pin It on Pinterest