Group shot of the 16 newly-commissioned officers last night at Government House last evening. (C.Pitt/BGIS)??

The Barbados Defence Force (BDF) can now boast of 16 newly- commissioned officers.

In a brief ceremony at Government House yesterday evening, Governor General, Sir Elliott Belgrave, presented the Queen’s Commission to the respective officers and lauded them on their latest accomplishment.

Before an audience that included BDF Chief of Staff, Colonel Alvin Quintyne, and Permanent Secretary responsible for Defence and Security, Edison Alleyne, the Governor General told the newly appointed officers that he expected them to adhere strictly to the admonition in each of the Commissions and advised them not to rest on their laurels.

Governor General Sir Elliott Belgrave presenting Second Lt. Tikesia Shondelle Semone Clarke with her Commission scroll.?? Looking on is Lady Belgrave and??Private Secretary, Patricia Layne. (C.Pitt/BGIS)??

The 16 BDF officers are:?? Captain Sandra Blackman; ??Captain Alfred Athelston Taylor; Lt. Donville Adderson Dash; Lt. Pedro Emmanuel Drakes; Lt. David Mac Donald Morgan; Second Lt. Shawn Anderson Brome; ??Second Lt. Krystle Cherise Harvey; Second Lt. Jamel Omar Drakes; ??Second Lt. Jamel Damien Sobers; Second Lt. Jerome Germaine Belle; ??Second Lt. Gordon Adrian Maxwell; ??Second Lt. Cayle Paul Corey Francis-Thornhill; ??Second Lt. Richmark Lorenzo Deane; Second Lt. Dorian Rondell Best, Second Lt. Tikesia Shondelle Semone Clarke; and Second Lt. Zara Triecia Chirone Massiah.

In Commonwealth countries, Commissioned Officers are given commissioning scrolls or commissioning scripts, signed by the Sovereign or the Governor General acting on the monarch’s behalf. Upon receipt, this official legal document binds the mentioned officer to the commitment stated on the scroll.


View the most recent Travel Protocols by

Pin It on Pinterest