Outgoing Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Investment and Development Corporation, Sonja Trotman, is presented with a token of appreciation from BIDC Chairman, John Rocheford. (C. Pitt/BGIS)

Certification Officers of the Barbados Investment and Development Corporation (BIDC) were labelled as that agency’s frontline workers who played a critical role in the island’s ability to export during the national lockdown.

So outstanding was the dedication of Trudy Joseph and Sonia Johnson, Certification Officers in the Certification Unit of the Export & Business Development Division, that they were each honoured with the Chief Executive Officer’s Award.

They were among several employees of the BIDC, who were recognised for their outstanding contribution, as well as years of service, during its annual Awards Ceremony and Charity Drive at Bagnall’s Point Gallery last Friday.

Minister of International Business and Industry, Ronald Toppin, said the dedication of the ladies was noteworthy, especially since 2020 brought many challenges.  

“Not everything in the past should be forgotten; some things we call to mind with great pride and satisfaction.  To our very own frontline workers, who amidst COVID-19, kept the flame burning, I say well done, we salute you,” he said, adding that their work was essential to keep the export process going.

The Industry Minister also extended praise to the other awardees. “Congratulations to the recipients of long service awards for your commitment to the development of the work of the BIDC year after year, we applaud you. To those receiving awards for excellence among other accolades, thank you for choosing to be extraordinary in a time when ordinary is often good enough. You have chosen a path which often yields much resistance,” he stated.

The Employee of the Year Award went to Kerry Hope, an Assistant Accountant in the Finance and Properties Division, while Samuel Harrison, a Senior Business Development Officer in the Technical, Finance and Properties Division, copped the Spirit of the Corporation Award.

Paula Bourne, Manager in the Export and Business Development Division, received the award for Manager of the Year. Awards for Service Excellence went to Sylvia Taitt, a Systems Support Officer, as well as Denise Lawrence and Glendon Ashby, both Business Development Officers.

Three persons were awarded for reaching the milestone of 40 years of service. They were: Denise Lawrence; Carmel Lyder, Accounts Clerk; and Cheryl Savoury, Secretary I.

Brenda Savoury, a Senior Accounts Clerk, received an award for 35 years of service, while Sharon Walton and Leslie Austin, both Business Development Officers, were individually recognised for 30 years of service.

Awards were also presented to staff who celebrated 25, 20, 15 and 10 years of service, in addition to Instant and Departmental awards. This year’s retirees are: Anthea Grimes, Madaline Headley-Woodroffe, Carmel Lyder and outgoing Chief Executive Officer of the BIDC, Sonja Trotman.


View the most recent Travel Protocols by

COVID-19 Info

Click Here

COVID-19 Protocols

Click Here

Pin It on Pinterest