Public service departments which are designated as essential services will open from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Stock Image)

All non-essential government ministries, departments and statutory corporations will be closed from 6:00 p.m. on Friday, April 3, until 6:00 a.m. on Wednesday, April 15, 2020.

Public service departments which are designated as essential services will open from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., and employees will function as directed by the Head of the Public Service.


Administration & Governance

  • Cabinet Office
  • Governor General’s Department
  • Prime Minister’s Office
  • Barbados Defence Force
  • Ministry of the Public Service

Law & Order

  • Office of the Attorney General
    1. Chief Parliamentary Counsel
    2. Solicitor General
    3. Director of Public Prosecutions
    4. Registrar of the Supreme Courts
  • Royal Barbados Police Force
  • Barbados Fire Service
  • Her Majesty’s Prison
  • Immigration Department
  • Customs and Excise Department

Department of Emergency Management

School Meals Department

Education Technical Management Unit

Barbados Meteorological Services

Health & Social Services

  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital
  • Pharmacies
  • Polyclinics
  • Care of the Elderly
  • Child Care Board
  • National Assistance Board
  • Welfare Department
  • Barbados Drug Service
  • Health Laboratory
  • District Hospitals
  • Psychiatric Hospital
  • National Disabilities Unit
  • Sanitation Service Authority
  • Barbados Water Authority
  • Nation Insurance Department (To remain open until 4:30)

Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs

  • Finance Division
  • Treasury Department
  • Central Bank
  • Barbados Statistical Department
  • Barbados Revenue Authority


  • Electricity (Private Sector)
  • Telecoms (Private Sector)

Broadcasting & Communication

  • Ministry of Innovation, Science and Technology
  • Ministry of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs

Communication with Foreign Agencies

  • Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade

Business and Commerce

  • Corporate Affairs and Intellectual Property Office
  • Department of Commerce
  • General Post Office
  • Bridgetown Port & Grantley Adams International Airport
  • Barbados National Oil Company Limited
  • Barbados Tourism Management Inc.
  • Public Transportation
  • Central Purchasing Department

Barbados Agricultural Development & Marketing Corporation

Ministry of Agriculture & Food Security

Ministry of Tourism & International Transport

Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs

Ministry of Transport, Works and Maintenance

Ministry of Home Affairs

National Petroleum Corporation

Ministry of Environment and National Beautification

Ministry of Youth and Community Empowerment

Pin It on Pinterest