Ten primary and four secondary schools are into the finals of the Fourth Biennial Schools’ Choir Competition which will be staged at the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex Sunday, March 3.

Missing from among this year’s finalists, however, are the 2011 champions Sharon Primary and Christ Church Foundation School.

The primary schools are: Arthur Smith, Cuthbert Moore, Gordon Walters, Hindsbury, Ignatius Byer, Mount Tabor, Roland Edwards, St. Lukes-Brighton St. Matthews and St. Philip.

Deighton Griffith, Lester Vaughan, Springer Memorial and Queen’s College are the secondary schools which have reached the finals.

The competition, which gets under way at 3:00 p.m., will also feature, as guest artistes, the choir from Ann Hill School, Ellerslie cheerleading group, a dance troupe from St. George Primary as well as schools involved in the Cultural and Historical Exposure for Kids in School (The CHEKS programme).?? ????

Coordinator of the event and peripatetic teacher (Music) with the Ministry of Education and Human Resource Development, Anthony Sargeant, expressing satisfaction at the high standard shown during the preliminaries said: "Based on the performances seen, the judges’ task will not be an easy one. They may find it challenging since all the finalists have already indicated that they intend to display an even higher standard."

Mr. Sargeant is encouraging parents and the general public to come out and support the students as they represent their respective schools at the Finals.??

The Biennial Schools’ Choir Competition allows students to showcase their talent and provides an opportunity for creative expression and socialisation that are necessary for their educational development.

Additionally, it places emphasis on correct breath control, tonal quality, accuracy and expression and aims to improve group relationships and sharpen interpersonal skills.

The finals of the Biennial Schools’ Choir competition will see prizes awarded for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place in the primary and secondary division. Special prizes will also be awarded in each division for Best Arrangement; Best Original Song; Most Dynamic Choir and Most Improved Choir. ??In addition, there will be a Composer’s Award for Best Original song as well as a Director’s award.


Pin It on Pinterest