Winner of the Ministry of Tourism’s 10th Annual Speech Competition, Christopher Morgan, receiving his trophy and prizes from Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism, Shelley Carrington. (A. Miller/BGIS)

Christopher Morgan was granted his wish this morning, when he was announced as the winner of the Ministry of Tourism’s 10th Annual Speech Competition.

The Harrison College student, who revealed that being crowned Junior Minister of Tourism 2011/2012 would be a fitting gift for his birthday this week, competed against nine others at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.

Each student was required to deliver a speech indicating three ways in which government could increase the linkages between tourism and agriculture; or three ways in which government could utilise Barbados’ cultural heritage tourism product as a viable niche market.??

Christopher suggested that strict laws should be enforced to protect the environment and historically significant sites to reduce the "loss of architectural and cultural heritage"; increased local fare should be utilised at restaurants and hotels; and the long wait in the lines at customs at the airport could be made more bearable, and profitable, by using videos to advertise local heritage attractions.

Second place winner Kemar Roberts, also from Harrison College, proposed increased economic partnerships and tax incentives for businesses within the sector and replicating the Oistins Fish Fry experience to multiple sites as means of bringing the three industries closer.

On the other hand, Jane Small of the St. James Secondary School, who placed third, recommended religious conferences as a viable way to, not only feature the island’s historic churches, but cater to another niche of the tourism industry.

The three winners were all awarded trophies, cash prizes and summer internships within the tourism industry, with the Junior Minister of Tourism to participate in various activities throughout the year, including representing Barbados at the Regional Tourism Youth Congress 2012.

Other participants were Diandra Carrington and Mario Reece Quinn, Alexandra School; Cheryse Greenidge and James Fox, Christ Church Foundation School; Giselle Best and Keri Gibbs, Garrison Secondary School and Khadisha Baker, St. James Secondary School.


View the most recent Travel Protocols by

COVID-19 Info

Click Here

COVID-19 Protocols

Click Here

Pin It on Pinterest