Five entries have been chosen to compete in the finals of the Barbados at 50 Monument Design Competition.

The entries, which were chosen from a field of 40, were designed by Vincent Jones and Hugh Holder; Taiesha Carrington; Jason Hope; Selwyn Small; and Kevin Talma and John Burgess.

The finalists were announced today by Chairman of the 50th Anniversary of Independence Celebrations Coordinating Committee, Senator Maxine McClean, during a special ceremony held in the Officers Mess of the Barbados Defence Force, St. Ann???s Fort, Garrison.

Senator McClean told the finalists that they were ???on the threshold of history???, with the opportunity to have their work displayed among the great works of persons such as Karl Broodhagen.

???For generations, the 50th Anniversary monument will stand out as representative of what we have achieved over the last half century. I wish each of you good luck and remind you once again that your artistic creativity will be etched in Barbados??? landscape for eternity,??? she added.

The Minister also lauded the other participants and assured them that from the moment they put pen or pencil to paper, or sat in front of a computer screen to prepare their entries, they were winners. She had special praise for persons under the age of 25 who participated in the competition.

???Your participation is testimony to the young talent that exists on this small island. It also shows that our design seeds of the future have been planted and are capable of growing to heights that we are unable to imagine at this stage. Continue to be young leaders in your chosen fields of endeavour,??? she advised.

Those young persons: Jerome Brathwaite, Taiesha Carrington, Anthonio Howell, Akeila Jordan-Watson, Nicolette Licorish and Doreen Edwards, were presented with the Seeds of the Future Award prizes.The winning monument will be erected at the Garrison Savannah.

View the most recent Travel Protocols by

Pin It on Pinterest