There are almost triple the number of options under this year???s National Development Scholarships as compared to last year, and Barbadians are being encouraged to apply now.

Interested persons, between the ages of 18 and 40, who have already been accepted at an internationally-accredited university at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels, may apply for the scholarships offered by the Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation.

They are available in a wide range of disciplines such as: Aviation Law, Career Counselling, Child Psychiatry, Children and Family Mental Health, Clinical/Behavioural Psychology, Coastal Engineering, Conservation Management, Cyber Crime, Exploration Geophysics, Geology and Maritime Studies/Law.

Other areas in which the scholarships will be awarded are: Media Production/Studies, Nephrology, Neurology, New Media and National Development, Oncology, Penology, Project Monitoring and Evaluation, Psychiatric Social Work, Renewable Energy, Speech Pathology/Speech Therapy, Veterinary Pathology, and Vocational and Technical Education.

Programmes which are offered at the University of the West Indies will not be considered. ??The scholarship will cover the cost of one direct economy class ticket to the country of study at the commencement of the course, and one return ticket to Barbados on completion of that programme.

It will also cover full tuition fees, payable directly to the University; a book allowance of $1,000 (once); and a clothing allowance of $736 (once) applicable for students pursuing studies in cold countries. It will also include a living allowance of $6,300 per annum for students pursuing studies in the United States; $5,880 per annum for studies in Canada and $7,560 per annum for studies in the United Kingdom.

Successful applicants will be required to enter a bond with sureties to return and work in Barbados on completion of the course, on the basis of one year for each year of the award.

Application forms and further information may be obtained from the Tertiary Section of the Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Innovation, Elsie Payne Complex, Constitution Road, St. Michael, where completed forms must be submitted no later than Monday, June 27. Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

Pin It on Pinterest