On Wednesday, January 14, recipients of awards in the 2008 Independence Honours List were presented with their insignia by Governor General, Sir Clifford Husbands, in a ceremony at Government House.

Prime Minister David Thompson, other Cabinet Ministers and immediate family members of the recipients were in attendance.

The honourees were as follows:

Knight of St. Andrew – Retired life insurance executive, Marcus Jordan

Companion of Honour of Barbados – Retired parliamentarian and women’s advocate, Maizie Barker-Welch

Gold Crown of Merit – Entertainer Richard Stoute

Gold Crown of Merit – Cardiologist Dr. Richard Ishmael

Gold Crown of Merit – Educator Olivier Cox

Gold Crown of Merit – Managing Director of Jordan’s Supermarket, Audley Jordan

Silver Crown of Merit – Deputy Chief Commissioner of the Barbados Boys’ Scouts Association, Lt. Col Vere Springer

Silver Crown of Merit – Emergency Management Consultant, Dr. Brian Charles

Silver Crown of Merit – Manager of Business Development, Barbados Public Workers’ Cooperative Credit Union, Keith Bourne

Silver Crown of Merit – Retired yacht captain and boat owner, Andrew Owen Burke

Barbados Service Star – Rawle Clarke

Barbados Service Star – Jean Lovell

Barbados Service Star – Valrie Pilgrim

Barbados Service Star – Gerald Hunte

The late Stanton Parris’ Barbados Service Star was collected by a representative.

Barbados Service Medal – Linda Waithe

Barbados Service Medal – John Haynes

Bravery Medal – Island Safari tour guide, Ruel Stanford. Earlier this year he courageously assisted a group of tourists from falling victim to highway bandits.

View the most recent Travel Protocols by

Pin It on Pinterest