Thursday, February 1, marked the inauguration of the Single Domestic Space in ten participating Caribbean Countries, namely Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago.

The historic move is designed to facilitate ease of movement during this year’s ICC Cricket World Cup and will last until May 15, 2007.

Deputy Prime Minister of Barbados and Chairperson of the CARICOM Sub Committee on Security for the ICC CWC 2007, Mia Mottley was on hand at the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA) to brief the media as to how the first day of operations went throughout the region.

Ms Mottley is pictured below as she spoke to the media. She is flanked at right by Attorney General and Minister of Home Affairs, Dale Marshall; Commander of  the CARICOM Operations Planning and Coordinating Staff (COPACS), Colonel Antony Anderson; and Chairman of  GAIA Inc, David Edwards.

In the other photo, immigration officers at GAIA welcome some of the first persons to arrive at the airport with the advent of the new Single Domestic Space.

Pin It on Pinterest