Barbadian passport holders travelling to any of the countries in Europe listed in the Schengen Zone, are reminded that they do not need to obtain an entry visa for stays of up to 90 days, in any 180 days period.

According to officials from The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Barbadians need only to arrive at the port of entry with a valid Barbados passport and this will entitle them to travel throughout any or all of the 26 Schengen countries of Europe without a visa.

Those countries which are part of the Schengen Zone include Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Switzerland, Finland and Spain.

On expiration of the three-month period, the national visa requirements of the respective countries will take effect. Additionally, long-stay visas and residence permits for visits exceeding three months, remain subject to national conditions of the individual Schengen country.

Barbadians should ensure that their passports are valid and will not expire during the time they will be travelling. The passport must be valid for three months after the intended date of departure from the Schengen Area and must have been issued within the previous 10 years. Exceptions to this requirement will be in the case of an emergency when this obligation may be waived.

In the case of travel that exceeds 90 days, Barbadians are advised to forego the Schengen visa exemption entirely and apply for the relevant long-stay visa instead.

All travellers must justify the purpose and conditions of their visit and must have proof of sufficient means of subsistence, both for the duration of their intended stay, and for the return to their country of origin or transit to a third country.

Barbadians are reminded that depending on the purpose of their visit, they may not be automatically granted the full three months since the length of time given at the border/checkpoint varies.

Additionally, Barbadians arriving in Europe from the United Kingdom (UK) are advised that once they have left that country, the time granted by UK immigration officials may not be granted again when seeking re-entry. Even though the UK is a member of the European Union, it is not part of the Schengen Zone.

Barbados??? two Diplomatic Missions in the Schengen Zone are, Switzerland and Belgium. There is also a Honourary Consulate in Germany. The representatives are mandated to assist Barbadians who may require advice and assistance while in Europe.

All travellers should familiarise themselves with the precise travel requirements well ahead of their travel abroad.

Pin It on Pinterest