(Stock Photo)

Public schools will close for summer recess next week.

The last day of school for students will be Thursday, July 5, while teachers will proceed on vacation after Friday, July 6.

Nine weeks have been allocated for the 2018 summer holidays. The new school year 2018-2019 will begin with a planning week for teachers from Monday, September 3, to Friday, September 7. Students will return to the classroom on Monday, September 10.

According to the Ministry of Education, Technological and Vocational Training, there will be 38 weeks of instruction for the new school year. The Michaelmas term (Term I) will run for 14 weeks, ending for students on Thursday, December 13, and for teachers on Friday, December 14. During this term, there will be Teachers’ Professional Day, occurring on Friday, October 19.

The Hilary Term (Term II), will start at the beginning of 2019 and will last for 12 weeks. It will begin on Monday, January 7, for teachers, and Tuesday, January 8, for students. The term will end on Thursday, March 28, and Friday, March 29, for students and teachers, respectively.

Term III, also called the Trinity Term, will last for 12 weeks. Teachers will begin on Monday, April 15, while students will be back in the classroom on Tuesday, April 16.

The term will end on Thursday, July 4, and Friday, July 5, for students and teachers, respectively.


View the most recent Travel Protocols by

Pin It on Pinterest