President, Dame Sandra Mason, poses with the seven independent senators following a swearing-in ceremony at State House, today. (C. Pitt/BGIS)

Seven Independent Senators were sworn in today at State House, as they took the Oath of Allegiance before President Dame Sandra Mason.

They are: Senators Kevin Boyce, Crystal Drakes, Andrew Mallalieu, Dr. Christopher Maynard, The Hon. Lindell Nurse, Reverend Dr. John Rogers, and Monique Taitt.

Returning Senator, Crystal Drakes, thanked Dame Sandra Mason for selecting her to the position. “I want to thank Her Excellency for placing her faith in me to serve as one of her Independent Senators. I am most humbled. I’m honoured to be fulfilling that role,” she said.

Ms. Drakes described the Senate as “the checks and balances on government”, a role she said she would “serve in the most independent way as possible”.

Meanwhile, first-time Senator Andrew Mallalieu described the appointment by the President as exciting. “It’s a big responsibility to have, … but also [I am] a bit nervous, if I’m honest. It’s a big task.” Mr. Mallalieu also stated that he would represent the community (private sector) to the best of his ability, in an independent fashion.

View the most recent Travel Protocols by

Pin It on Pinterest