Ten outstanding educators have been chosen as the finalists for the prestigious CLICO/Nation Barbados Teachers’ Award for 2007.

The names were disclosed today at the Ministry of Education by the Selection Committee Chairman, Joy Gittens.

The ten are:  Andrea Carrington Mayers of Lawrence T. Gay Memorial; Anthony Coward, Carrington Primary; Colin Cumberbatch, Boscobel Primary; Julia Edey, St. George Secondary; George Francis, Gordon Greenidge Primary; Marva Griffith, St. Boniface Nursery; Leslie Lett, Alexandra School; Tracy Morris, St. George Primary; Peter Norville, Bay Primary; and Patsy Walcott of the  Government Hill Nursery.

They were chosen from a field of 14 semi-finalists during the last phase of the selection process which involved classroom observations.  The finalists will have their portfolios assessed by the Selection Committee and will be required to make oral presentations on an education-related topic. 

The CLICO/Nation Teacher of the Year Award will be conferred at a ceremony at the Frank Collymore Hall on Saturday, October 20. 

Pin It on Pinterest