2020 National Distinguished Teacher Award Ceremony. (RF Bank & Trust)

Ten outstanding teachers have been recognized for their contribution to education in Barbados at the 2020 Royal Fidelity National Distinguished Teachers Awards (RFNDTA).

The recipients are: Angel Birch of Eden Lodge Nursery School; Gemell Gale of St. Giles Nursery; Fiona Collucci of St. Matthews Primary; Lisa Eversley of Queens College; Sonia St. Hill of The Lodge School; Allyson Murray of Grantley Adams Memorial School; Trudi N. Harris of the Charles F. Broome Special Unit; Keisha Barker and Nikita Prescott-Johnson, both teachers at Ellerton Primary; and Adrian Patrick Stoute of the Samuel Jackman Prescod Institute of Technology.

The winners were announced at the virtual awards ceremony, streamed last Thursday on the YouTube platform. They have each received a commemorative trophy and $1,500.

As he delivered the congratulatory message, Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry, Senator Dr. Romel Springer, commended educators for their dedication to the nation’s children despite the difficult circumstances resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic.

“If there is one thing the events of the past year has taught us, it is that the roles of teachers have reached new and unprecedented heights during 2020 and into 2021. It is therefore crucially important to demonstrate a commensurate and tangible recognition of the contributions made by teachers,” Senator Springer remarked.

He further underscored their importance to society, noting that they helped to “shape the minds and hearts” of children.

The Parliamentary Secretary also praised Royal Fidelity for its pledge to continue working with the Ministry to enhance the delivery of education in Barbados.

2020 Royal Fidelity National Distinguished Teachers Awards recipients. (GP)

“We are pleased to have such appreciation showered on our teachers and deeply value the partnership with RF Merchant Bank and Trust Fund Limited as it continues to recognize teachers. Thank you and may this partnership continue to blossom”.

Also addressing this year’s winners was RF’s Brokerage Manager, Lamar Goring commended the teachers for their unwavering commitment to their students despite the unprecedented challenges of the 2020-2021 academic year.

“Despite the chaos of COVID 19, and lately, volcanic ash, educators like you are proof that the future our nation’s youth is secure. Not only have you all risen to the occasion and taken the bull of virtual learning by the horns, but you have gone above and beyond the call of duty to help your students, their parents, your colleagues, and the wider community navigate through this new normal.”

The RF National Distinguished Teachers Awards, which is it in its eighth year, seeks to highlight outstanding teachers from the nursery to tertiary level.

Each year, individuals are nominated by students, parents, and members of the community. A shortlist is created based on these nominations, with the top 10 being selected by the ‘Blue Ribbon’ panel of judges comprised of retired educators.


View the most recent Travel Protocols by

Pin It on Pinterest